PREVIOUS PRESIDENTS AND DIRECTOR-GENERALS OF THE CBI

The CBI Director-General acts as the lead executive for the CBI and is selected and appointed by the CBI Board, usually for single 5-year term. The CBI President is a non-executive position, and prospective candidates are nominated by the CBI Board and Chairs' Committee before standing for election by CBI members at the Annual General Meeting. Presidents can serve up to three, one-year terms. More information on the governance of the CBI can be found on the <u>CBI website</u>.

Previous CBI Director-Generals		
John Davies, MBE 1965 – 1969	Adair Turner, Baron Turner of Ecchinswell 1995 – 2000	
Sir Campbell Adamson 1969 –1976	Sir Digby Jones 2001 –2006	
Sir John Methven 1976 –1980	Sir Richard Lambert 2006 – 2011	
Sir Terence Beckett 1980 –1987	John Cridland, CBE 2011 – 2015	
<u>Sir John Banham</u> 1987 – 1992	Dame Carolyn Fairbairn 2015 – 2020	
<u>Sir Howard Davies</u> 1992 – 1995		



PREVIOUS PRESIDENTS AND DIRECTOR-GENERALS OF THE CBI

Previous CBI Presidents		
Sir Maurice Laing 1965 – 1966	Sir James Cleminson 1984 – 1986	<u>Sir John Egan</u> 2002 – 2004
Sir Stephen Brown 1966 – 1968	Lord Nickson of Renagour 1986 – 1988	Sir John Sunderland 2004 – 2006
<u>Sir Arthur Norman</u> 1968 – 1970	Sir Trevor Holdsworth 1988 – 1990	Sir Martin Broughton 2007 – 2009
Sir John Partridge 1970 – 1972	Sir Brian Corby 1990 – 1992	Dame Helen Alexander 2009 – 2011
Sir Michael Clapham 1972 – 1974	Sir Michael Angus 1992 – 1994	<u>Sir Roger Carr</u> 2011 – 2013
Sir Ralph Bateman 1974 – 1976	Sir Bryan Nicholson 1994 – 1996	<u>Sir Mike Rake</u> 2013 – 2015
Viscount Watkinson of Woking 1976 – 1978	Lord Marshall of Knightsbridge 1996 – 1998	Paul Drechsler, CBE 2015 – 2018
Sir John Hedley Greenborough 1978 – 1980	Sir Clive Thompson 1998 – 2000	John Allan, CBE 2018 – 2020 Lord Karan Bilimoria
Sir Raymond Pennock 1980 – 1982	Lord Vallance of Tummel 2000 – 2002	2020
Sir Campbell Fraser 1982 – 1984		

